Skip to main content
Skip to main content

In support of Florida State University’s Top 25 initiative, the University is strengthening its strategic planning to set the direction for a bold and transformative future. FSU is partnering with industry-leading consultants AKA|Strategy to create an action-focused plan that addresses FSU’s strengths, challenges, and strategic opportunities.

The University’s Strategic Planning Committee is composed of senior executives, faculty members, staff, alumni, and students from around campus. The Committee is the primary working group for the strategic planning process, but we need your help.

Dear Colleagues,

As you know, our Florida State University Strategic Planning Committee has been thoughtfully and industriously working on a new strategic plan for several months. Through numerous focus-group discussions and interviews as well as a series of open meetings with faculty, staff, and students, we have sought widespread input from all areas across campus.

Now that a preliminary framework of the plan has been developed, the Strategic Planning Committee is eager to once again obtain feedback from all corners of the University that will help in developing the complete draft. A preliminary draft has been posted on the Strategic Planning website ( for campus review and response.

You are invited to participate in one or more town-hall meetings during the week of February 15th to discuss the draft. Each forum will be held at the Alumni Center and will focus on one of the strategic goals as noted in the schedule below.

Excellence Across the University’s Academic and Research Programs
Date: Tuesday, February 16
Time: 2:00-3:15pm
Location: Rendina Room at Alumni Center

Multi-Dimensional Student Success at FSU and Beyond
Date: Tuesday, February 16
Time: 3:30-4:45pm
Location: Rendina Room at Alumni Center

Diversity and Inclusiveness in FSU’s Community
Date: Thursday, February 18
Time: 2:00-3:15pm
Location: Cottrell Conference Room at Alumni Center

Innovation and Entrepreneurship Embedded in FSU Programs and Culture
Date: Thursday, February 18
Time: 3:30-4:45pm
Location: Cottrell Conference Room at Alumni Center

We also encourage departments, divisions, organizations and other groups throughout the University to meet informally to discuss the draft and offer their feedback to the Steering Committee, directing feedback via email to me at

As you review this framework for the strategic plan, we ask that you consider the following questions:

  1. Does the plan set a clear direction for FSU? Do the four overarching strategic goals (Roman numerals I – IV) capture the most important priorities for the University? Are these goals clear and well-defined – providing sufficient direction while being broad enough to allow the colleges and departments latitude in designing specific initiatives they will undertake in support of the goals?
  2. Do the “strategies” (with Arabic numbers) and “initiatives” (bullet points) described under each goal articulate the most important things to undertake to address/achieve the goal?
  3. As this draft is still a preliminary framework, what important ideas/initiatives would you add to elaborate the goals and generate a sense of momentum for and excitement about FSU’s future?
  4. How well does the plan convey an overall direction – a vision – for FSU? Feel free to help us articulate that vision by suggesting key ideas it should convey or even drafting a few lines of text.

It’s important to note that this draft is only preliminary. It will undergo many more iterations of discussion and revision by the Strategic Planning Committee and more Town Hall discussions for all constituents before it is finalized for submission by the Committee to President Thrasher and the FSU Board of Trustees.

We look forward to seeing you at one or more of the Town Hall forums next week. Your participation in the process is appreciated!

Sally McRorie
Provost and Executive Vice President

Preliminary Framework for the Strategic Plan (February 9, 2016)

Strategic Plan Appendix with metrics (February 12, 2016)

Recent Forums:

In an effort to increase participation in the process, FSU held a second Strategic Planning Forum to hear your perspective on the future direction of the University. The objectives of the forums were to gather ideas and aspirations, test preliminary concepts, and provide early meaningful engagement in the planning process.

Staff Forum:

Date: Thursday, October 29
Time: 1:00-2:00pm
Location: Robert Bradley Reading Room, Strozier Library

Student Forum:

Date: Thursday, October 29
Time: 2:15-3:15pm
Location: Robert Bradley Reading Room, Strozier Library

Strategic Planning Committee

Sally McRorie, Provost; SPC Co-Chair

Kyle Clark, Vice President for Finance and Administration; SPC Co-Chair

Kim Barber, Registrar

Bridgett Birmingham, Associate University Librarian

Michael Brady, Professor and Chair, Department of Marketing, College of Business

Mary Coburn, Vice President for Student Affairs

Antonio Cuyler, Assistant Professor, Arts Administration, College of Fine Arts

Larry Dennis, Dean, College of Communication

Michelle Douglas, Director, Organizational Development & Equal Opportunity Compliance, Human Resources

Ross Ellington, Associate Vice President for Research

Kristine Harper, Professor, Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences; Member, Faculty Senate Steering Committee

Mark Hillis, Member, FSU Board of Trustees

Liz Hirst, Deputy Chief of Staff

Tom Jennings, Vice President for University Advancement; President FSU Foundation

Steve Pattison, Alumnus

Piers Rawling, Professor and Chair, Department of Philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences

Jeanette Taylor, Professor and Chair, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences

Andrew Wilson, Student

Peter Milios, Student Government Representative


Anthony Knerr, Managing Director

John Braunstein, Director

Ben Wildavsky, Advisory Consultant